Reading and Writing

Jolene by Ray Lamontagne

I first heard “Jolene” by Ray Lamontagne on the soundtrack for “The Town” and proceeded to download it immediately and listen to it on repeat for about 7 days straight. I just couldn’t bring myself to listen to anything else when something so wonderful existed right in front of me. I always listen to Jolene whenever I am writing and need inspiration. I don’t know if it’s the lyrics or the melody (probably a combination of both) but as soon as I hear this song all sorts of creative thoughts flow into my brain. I am so infinitely grateful to Ray for writing this song. If you havn’t heard it, drop everything you are doing and listen to it right now!

Music Thoughts

So here’s the first post about an artist that while certainly gaining some fame and critical acclaim (unintentional rhyme), still isn’t as popular as a “Howie Day” type singer/songwriter, though is an exceedingly more talented songwriter. Ray is the kind of songwriter that can write a love song without seeming like a huge p&ssy; and in the era of Nick Lachey’s “What’s Left of Me,” that certainly speaks volumes. First, a little history of on my Ray…I’m trying to write this column with only the information I’ve gathered over the past few months, and without looking back through the internet for information, so forgive me if it contains the occasional minor historical inaccuracy and/or inconsistent timelines.

Ray grew up in rural Maine where as a young adult, he worked in a shoe factory (and you think you hate YOUR job). He woke up insanely early and got home after dark…

View original post 1,056 more words

Leave a Reply

