Micro Pleasures

On Being the “Leading Lady”

It’s been a year and a half since moving to London for my biggest adventure yet and I realise I’ve really let my personal happiness fall by the wayside, this blog included! I think I just got too wrapped up in the daily grind and every day life that I let myself, and the things I love, suffer.

After a particularly low point last week, I decided that it’s time I took control of my own happiness again! I’m moving back to Sydney at the end of the year so I want to learn to enjoy London properly again and celebrate all the things I love about it. Every day can be a mini adventure if we want it to be!

So this blog and you dear readers (wherever you are) are going to keep me accountable and living each day to the fullest. Because I don’t believe that the daily 9-5 should be your whole life and I really do believe that each of us should do something that makes us happy each and every day, whether it’s finding that really great cup of coffee or sitting in a hidden garden to read in the sunshine. Sometimes it’s about the big adventures and other times its the simple pleasures.

This used to be a blog where I wrote funny anecdotes, travel essays and short stories, and I will keep up with that, but even more now it will be a place where you and I can come and just find a little sparkle and happiness in the daily grind. Because every day should be memorable!

I watched The Holiday again recently (a rainy day favourite of mine) and this time this scene really stuck with me:

Arthur: “Iris, in the movies we have leading ladies and we have the best friend. You, I can tell, are a leading lady, but for some reason you are behaving like the best friend.”

Iris: “You’re so right. You’re supposed to be the leading lady of your own life, for god’s sake! Arthur, I’ve been going to a therapist for three years, and she’s never explained anything to me that well. That was brilliant. Brutal, but brilliant.”
leading lady

So I think it’s time to start behaving like leading lady again! I’m excited for the adventure to begin!

Xox Anamarija

4 thoughts on “On Being the “Leading Lady”

Leave a Reply

