Micro Pleasures · Rants

Don’t let the grey world stop you from shining

It’s been a particularly rough 2 weeks for me and I can’t quite pin point why. After rather grandiously claiming to all my friends that I am trying to view life more positively and glass-half-full I sort of let myself tumble into a spiral of sadness. I suppose it’s a mixture of feeling a lack of creative energy, missing my family, work stress and most of all the grim weather we have been having here in London as of late. Summer is still nowhere to be seen and I really miss the sunshine.

I’ll also be the first to admit that I’m a bit of an “emotional cutter” and I tend to wallow in my sadness with sad songs and sad movies and sad books. Anything to get the tears flowing which doesn’t really take all that much effort, let’s be honest.

Peanuts

But this morning when my friend brought me a coffee and I listened to an old favourite song and sat in a brief spell of sunshine I read a quote that really resonated with me.

“What a wonderful thought it is that some of the best days of our lives haven’t happened yet.”

It got me thinking that while it can feel very self indulgent to wallowย in my misery for a short time, in the end the only way I can pull myself out is by being positive and thinking beyond whatever is making me sad in that moment. There are so many things to be excited about and I want to get back to feeling that excitement every day, be it over a really great cup of coffee, catching up with an old friend or booking a trip to your favourite city.

Corona

So let’s smile while the sun is shining in London for once and enjoy a drinkย in the evening light.

Love, sunshine andย pina coladas

Anamarija xox

Leave a Reply

